The WIDER Board

The Board of the Institute, comprised of economists, policy makers, and social scientists from different regions of the world, seeks to ensure the highest level of intellectual and scientific excellence, advising on UNU-WIDER’s research programme and activities. The advisory Board is entrusted by the UNU Council.

Benno NduluProfessor Benno Ndulu
Mwalimu Nyerere Professorial Chair in Development
University of Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania


Ann Harrison Prof Ann Harrison
Dean of Haas School of Business
University of California, Berkeley, MI, USA

Justin LinProf Justin Lin
Dean of Institute of New Structural Economics
Peking University, Beijing, China

Jo BeallDr Jo Beall
Director of Education and Society
British Council, UK

Dr Kristiina Kuvaja-Xanthopoulos
Deputy Director General, Department for Africa and the Middle East, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Helsinki, Finland

Prof Martha Chen
Lecturer in Public Policy
Harvard Kennedy School, MA, USA
International Coordinator Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing and Organizing (WIEGO), MA, USA

Prof Miguel Urquiola
Professor, School of International and Public Affairs
Professor, Department of Economics
University of Columbia, New York, NY, USA

Prof Haroon Bhorat
Professor, School of Economics
Director, Development Policy Research Institute
University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Ex officio

Dr David M. Malone
Rector, United Nations University, Tokyo, Japan

Kuna SenProf Kunal Sen
Director, UNU-WIDER, Helsinki, Finland